Saturday, 26 September

These countries should ensure that their national policies conform to the EU Council decision, UNIAN reports.

After the EU Council adopted on June 18, 2018, a decision to extend until June 23, 2019, restrictive measures in response to the illegal annexation of the Ukrainian Crimea and Sevastopol by Russia, the Candidate Countries Montenegro and Albania, and the EFTA country Norway, member of the European Economic Area, as well as Ukraine and Georgia, aligned themselves with the declaration, according to a statement by EU High Representative for Foreign Affairs Federica Mogherini released on July 18.

“They will ensure that their national policies conform to this Council Decision,” the statement reads. The European Union has taken note of this commitment and welcomed it, according to Mogherini. The sanctions include a ban on the imports to the EU of products originating in Crimea, as well as a ban on investments and capital flow into the annexed peninsula. This means that no European national or EU-registered company shall purchase real estate or acquire businesses in Crimea, finance Crimean companies or provide services there. It is prohibited to provide tourist services. In particular, European cruise ships shall not enter Crimean ports, except for emergency situations.

Leave A Reply