Countries of the G-7 issued an official statement regarding Russian aggression against Ukraine in the Kerch Strait. In particular, they called on Russia to release Ukrainian sailors and return ships, Hromadske reports.

The Foreign Ministers of the G7 countries – Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, the United Kingdom, the United States of America and the High Representative of the EU “expressed their highest concern about Russian actions against Ukraine in the Kerch Strait and in adjacent waters that have dangerously increased tensions.”

“There is no justification for Russia’s use of military forces against Ukrainian ships and seamen. We urge both sides to be restraint, respect international law and avoid further escalation. We demand Russia to release detainees from crews and ships and refrain from obstructing the legal passage through the Kerch Strait,” diplomats said.

“We, the G7, once again emphasize that we will not recognize and never recognize the illegal annexation of the Crimean peninsula by Russia and express our continued support for Ukrainian sovereignty and territorial integrity,” the statement said.

Leave A Reply