Before the session of the UN Security Council, a number of EU countries – Germany, France, the United Kingdom, Belgium, Poland, and former members – Sweden, Italy and the Netherlands issued a joint statement condemning the Kremlin’s decision to issue passports in the occupied Donbas and stressed that it undermines the sovereignty of Ukraine.

“Facilitating the receipt of Russian citizenship for Ukrainian citizens living there contradicts the goals and spirit of the Minsk Agreements.

We hope that Russia will refrain from any actions that jeopardize the implementation of the Minsk Agreements and prevent the full restoration of Ukrainian government control over the areas covered by the agreements,” the statement said.

“The time chosen for Russia’s decision is indicative of the intention of the Russian Federation to further destabilize Ukraine and to aggravate the conflict,” the EU member states stressed in the UN.

Leave A Reply