Today the first group of residents from territories controlled by the Kremlin backed “Donetsk and Luhansk People’s Republics” have received passports of the Russian Federation, issued in a simplified manner in accordance with the April decree of the President of the Russian Federation.

The ceremony took place in the Rostov region, where about 60 residents of the so-called “Donbas republics” arrived the morning.

Recall, on April 24, Russian President Vladimir Putin signed a decree that allows residents of regions that are temporarily not under control of Ukraine, such as “Donetsk and Lugansk People’s Republics” to get Russian citizenship in a simplified manner. It was noted that this decision was allegedly “in order to protect the human rights and freedoms of citizens and based on generally accepted principles and norms of international law.”

Leave A Reply