Thursday, 24 September

Тhe head of the Croatian Foreign Ministry was elected new Secretary General of the Council of Europe. Her candidacy was supported by 159 deputies.

For the post of CE Secretary General, two candidates were nominated: the head of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Croatia, Maria Paichinovich-Burich, and the head of the Foreign Policy Department of Belgium, Didier Reinders.159 deputies voted for the Croatian, 105 deputies – for Reinders.

The current general secretary of the Council of Europe, Turbjørn Jagland, was elected in 2009 and re-elected for this post in 2014. His mandate ends in October 2019. The mandate of the new Secretary General of the Council of Europe will be in force until 2024.

The Ukrainian delegation did not vote in a protest against the Assembly’s decisions. But at the stage when government representatives voted, Ukraine supported Peychinovich-Burich. She represents a Croatian party that is friendly to our country.

Leave A Reply